A Stranded Sailor’s Story: 66 Days of Praying

ScreenHunter_1319 Jun. 06 13.50When I first heard about this story, on the day before Good Friday, I saw God’s fingerprints all over it. When I read about the man’s praying and demonstrated faith, and that of his parents, I knew God had surely sustained and saved this grateful man.

  • Do you believe in miracles?
  • Do you remember the pilot (Chesley “Sulley” Sullenburger) who landed a US Airways plane with over 150 people on the Hudson River in 2009? (geese flew into the engines, which disabled them).  Not a single life was loss!
  • Jesus Christ was in the wilderness 40 days (Matthew 4) and prayed.  While the Devil sought to tempt Jesus while he was in a vulnerable situation, he wasn’t successful.

As reported in Christian Examiner, Rescued sailor: ‘I was just praying to God’ (4/3/15):

 “I was just praying to God, ‘please protect me,'” to survive the 66-day ordeal, [Louis] Jordan said after returning safely to land.  According to CBS News, he said he had not had much time on the water before the incident.   But details about his disciplined approach to survival appear to belie his claimed inexperience at sea . . .

He limited his water intake to about a pint a day, praying daily, “‘Please God, send me some rain, send me some water,” he told WAVY TV in Portsmouth.

Leave a Reply

