Quarterback Cam Newton credits ‘the man upstairs’ (Accident survivor)

82834289_25db4ef0d4_z_LightCross_daveking


  • Cam Newton, a Christian, is a NFL Quarterback for the Carolina Panthers.   He survived a serious car accident yesterday which could have ended his young life.    He, like Pastor Joe Quartrone who I profiled a few months ago (post), experienced God’s protection in a big way!    On his Instagram account, he states:

I am appreciative for the many great things GOD has given me to be thankful for . . . “GOD WORKS IN MYSTERIOUS WAYS!”    And as that crash constantly plays back in my mind every time I close my eyes, I can’t go another day without me THANKING GOD for the opportunities he has given me in my life and this accident puts ALOT of things in perspective of what’s important and what’s not!

  • The truck the NFL player (1st pick in 2011 draft) was driving in Charlotte flipped over several times.  Newton was only in the hospital one night!   If that isn’t proof of God’s protective hands being on him I don’t know what is!


After winning the national championship in college football, he was quick to offer praise to God.   “It’s just a God thing,” he told a crush of reporters as he stood on the field. “I thank God every single day. I’m just His instrument and He’s using me on a consistent basis daily.”

In his remarks after the game, he continued to marvel at the ways God is using him.   “He’s using me to extend his Word and I’m a prime example of how God could turn something that was bad into something that was very great.”   “If God is with me who can be against me.” [Emphasis added]


A Truly Thankful Newton reflects on car accident (Video)


Greg Silverthorne

Photo credit: Dave King/flickr (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)


Leave a Reply

