Happy Thanksgiving (1 Thessalonians 5)

Sunset with CrossRejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. Do not quench the Spirit. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-19 (NKJV)


Happy Thanksgiving.   Even in times when we least feel like giving thanks, Scripture encourages us to do so anyway.  After the Boston Marathon bombing last year (April 2013), Governor Deval Patrick said at an Interfaith Memorial Service the following:

In my faith tradition, scripture teaches: “In every thing give thanks.” (I Thessalonians 5:18) That isn’t always easy to do.   On Monday afternoon, I wasn’t feeling it. What I felt, what so many of us felt then, was shock and confusion and anger.

But the nature of faith, I think, is learning to return to the lessons even when they don’t make sense, when they defy logic.   And as I returned to those lessons this week, I found a few things to be thankful for.  [Emphasis added]


I hope that tomorrow you can, in looking back on what’s gone on in your life this year, find many many reasons to be thankful.   The words of the Apostle Paul, as quoted by the Massachusetts Governor after the senseless bombing, are surely spiritual food for thought.  While it may not be easy, if you’ve had a stormy year, as the Gov. Patrick was having last year, lean on God’s word as written by Paul.

  • TheHighCalling.org, who I follow on Facebook, led me to the post I highlighted yesterday.

  Greg Silverthorne


2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving (1 Thessalonians 5)

    • Indeed Michael! Jesus and God ARE the reason, in my humble Christian opinion, for today (Thanksgiving) . . . and Christmas; while the reason for latter is more apparent, it nonetheless gets lost by too many and too often. Grace, mercy, and peace to you and your family today. Let’s KEEP the ‘true focus’ of the day. I liked your Thanksgiving post. Greg S.

      Like

Leave a Reply

