My Story: God at Work, Faith in Action (Worklife)

5375967353_c5f8ebf523Sometimes, one’s testimony (story) reveals a lot about God, them, and/or the situation one is in.   In line with the theme of the Your Next Triumph: Just a Step Away career series, what’s happened to me in the last 2 months has been proof of God’s amazing work . . . and that each Child of God, including me, is ‘amazing no matter what’.

  • Dan King, in a post on this blog I featured on September 10th (link), states:

No matter what happens around you, remember this: You.   Are.   Amazing.   God loves you and values you immeasurably more than you can imagine.   If you hold onto this one thing, you’ll land on your feet no matter how many organizational upheavals you live through.

Just 9 hours after I published that post, I got a pink slip!  You know what?   I said to myself:

If I believe what I just published, than I should have faith that God will make a way out of this economic storm.   I’m amazing no matter what!

Guess what?   He did make a way!   I got a better paying job at an international company that was eager to bring me on board to help with a mission-critical project.

  • I had assurance that God would show up on time.  He did!

I’m sharing my story with you today, so you know that if he can do it for me he can do it for you too.   I shared my testimony with my church family last month.   As I told them, it’s always important, when faced with a career setback, to remember who you are and whose you are.

I am a child of God . . . .who can endure any storm, though Him – if I keep the faith and say to myself: ‘You are with me Jesus’.   While I had no unemployment to fall back on, I had the Lord.  That at times can be better than money in the bank!

iStock_000021022342SmallIn closing, if you are the victim of ‘organizational unheaval’, never forget who your Real Boss is.   While he ‘may not be there when you need Him, he’s always right on time’.   My next Triumph WAS just a step away.  Your next Triumph is just a step away too.  Will you trust in the Lord when you are in a career storm?    Please do; you’ll be glad you did.   To God, my Real Boss, be the Glory!   Grace, mercy, and peace to you.

 Greg Silverthorne


Photo credit (blue cross): Jerry Worster/flickr (CC BY-NC 2.0)

Photo credit (man on mountaintop): iStock

Leave a Reply

