Faith in Action: Marvin Sapp (Christian Stories, Part 3)

Pastor Marvin L. Sapp’s Testimony: His Words, His Song

So glad I made it,
I made it through.
In spite of the storm and rain, heartache and pain, still I’m declaring.
I made it through, I didn’t lose.
Experience lost, at a major cost,
But I never lost faith in you.

  • In the top video, Marvin Sapp gives a verbal testimony and then sings the signature song it inspired, “My Testimony” (So Glad I Made it). He lost his wife, who died from cancer. She was 43 years old . . . they had 3 children. To have ‘made it’ through losing one’s wife at such a young age was surely a test of the widower’s faith.  I’m so glad he made it too.
  • The bottom video features him singing the song, live (Official video of Sapp singing song, “My Testimony”).


As was reported in October 2010 my Terry DeBoer (“Gospel star Marvin Sapp preaches for first time since wife MaLinda Sapp’s death“):

  • Just a month and a day after the memorial service of his wife MaLinda Sapp, Grand Rapids pastor and gospel music artist Marvin Sapp was back in the pulpit Sunday, addressing his congregation at Lighthouse Full Life Center Church on Burton Avenue SE.”
  • “I’m not saying it’s been easy. … It’s been very difficult for me and for my family as a whole,” [Marvin] Sapp, 43, told more than 250 worshipers at the church’s 11 a.m. service.
  • “But I do realize the Bible is right: keep holding us up in prayer.”
  • MaLinda Prince Sapp died [on September 9, 2010 at the age of 43]  following an 18-month struggle with [colon] cancer, leaving Sapp and their three children, Marvin II, 16; Milaila, 13; and Madisson, 11.

 

 


(to be continued – Part 4 of 4)   (Sybrina Fulton’s story – mother of Trayvon Martin)

Leave a Reply

