Truth, Trust, & Triumph (Part 5)

  • Final thoughts on Christian Living for Triumph (3 Ts)
  • Scripture (All 9 Bible verses of Truth, Trust, & Triumph)
  • Song (Words of Evans/Pugh’s rendition of ‘Perfect Peace’)
  • Series Posts (Links)

4416372357_7348991248

Final Thoughts

     At times Faith is a Bridge, a way to get from one place to another.   At other times Faith is a Wall, protecting a hopeful Christian from peril.   Whether a wall or a way, Faith allows a God-trusting Christian, who knows the Truth, to achieve Triumph.   The Lord will keep you in Perfect Peace . . . if you keep your mind stayed on Him.   The Bible tells us (Hebrews 11) that ‘faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen’.   

  • This Series explored and examined Truth, Trust, and Triumph
  • The foundation (specific Scriptures) upon which I grounded this Christian Living series, and the Gospel song that I feel poignantly touches on all the Phases, are provided below.   As well, links to the earlier posts can be found at the bottom of this post.

9420585754_a2c64ede54

Scripture

Truth

John 10:3, 4b, 9-10 – The watchman opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice.   He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out . . . and his sheep follow him because they know his voice. I am the gate; whoever enters through me will be saved.   He will come in and go out, and find pasture.   The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. (NIV)

Psalm 24:1-2 The earth is the LORD’S, and the fullness thereof; the world, and they that dwell therein.    For he hath founded it upon the seas, and established it upon the floods. (KJV)

John 8:32And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” (NKJV)

Trust

Proverbs 3:5-6 –Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. (NIV)

Mark 12:30  – Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ (NIV)

Isaiah 26:3 – You will keep him in perfect peace, Whose mind is stayed on You, Because he trusts in You. (NKJV)

Triumph

Isaiah 40:31 – But those who wait on the Lord Shall renew their strength; They shall mount up with wings like eagles, They shall run and not be weary, They shall walk and not faint. (NKJV)

Jude 1:20-21, 24 – 20 But you, dear friends, must continue to build your lives on the foundation of your holy faith. And continue to pray as you are directed by the Holy Spirit. 21 Live in such a way that God’s love can bless you as you wait for the eternal life that our Lord Jesus Christ in his mercy is going to give you. 24 And now, all glory to God, who is able to keep you from stumbling, and who will bring you into his glorious presence innocent of sin and with great joy.  (NLT)

2 Timothy 1:6-7 Therefore I remind you to stir up the gift of God which is in you through the laying on of my hands.   For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind. (NKJV)

*  *  *

Song (Evans/Pugh): “Why Should I Be Bound”

  • Below is my ‘ballpark transcript’ of the live YouTube audio that I feel ties the 3 Ts together so well; the ‘flavor’ of the lead singer’s (Earnest Pugh) heartfelt ad libs & the choir’s sung words are captured.   If you like Isaiah 26:3 you need to listen to it (link below); I can’t read that Biblical verse -one of my favorites- and not hear this song!

Why Should I Be Bound – David G. Evans Choir featuring Earnest Pugh (2010)

I will keep you in Perfect Peace,
All whose mind is Stayed on me.
I will keep you in Perfect Peace,
All whose mind is Stayed on me.

The earth is the Lord’s and the fullness thereof.
The world them they that dwell therein.
All belong to him who has made all!
He watches me.

So Why should I be bound,
When God has set me free?
(Pugh: Oh Lord, I got another question)
So why should I be bound,
When Jesus died for you and me? (Anybody glad about it?)

He has lifted all of my burdens.
He did it all the way.
For he is the Keeper of my soul, my soul (Thank You Lord)

(Don’t cha know that) God will make a way out of no way.
(Won’t he do it!  Won’t he do it!) Oh yeah!
(I’m so glad!) so glad that he’s my Savior.
He watches me.
He is the keeper of my soul, my soul!
He is the keeper of my soul, my soul!
He is the keeper of my soul, my soul!

. . .

Series Posts (Links)

Conclusion

In closing, please keep in mind that if you live ‘in spirit and in truth’, Spiritual Walls and Bridges WILL allow You to live in Perfect Peace.   Aren’t you glad?    If you have a favorite scripture which you feel conveys Truth, Trust, or Triumph to you, feel free to share it.   Grace, mercy, and peace to you.    

*  *  *

Greg Silverthorne, 66 Assurance Way

The Way, The TruthPhoto Credit (Wall): Jerry Worster/Flickr  CC

Photo Credit (Bridge):  Art4TheGlryOfGod/FlickrCC

Leave a Reply

